Girls don’t play with hammers

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “If I Had a Hammer.”

When I was younger, I wanted to be a ballerina/fairy/princess because I am a girl and that is what girls want to do when they are young.

When my little brother was younger, well, younger than he is now, he wanted to be a footballer/cowboy/alien shooting spaceman because he is a boy and that is what boys want to do when they are young.

But then we grew up a tiny little bit and matured a tiny little bit less and our answers changed. Mine became nurse or writer or most commonly Hermione Granger, and my brother answered doctor or plumber or cricketer.

Now I’m not saying there’s anything wrong with being a nurse or a writer if you’re a girl or a doctor or a cricketer if you’re a boy but it never even crossed my mind to think about becoming a plumber or a carpenter or an electrician because it was never given to me as an option. So now, at the ripe old age of 18, the Daily Prompt is asking which of these trades I would like to have learned and my answer is this. I would like to have learned that it was alright to think about learning them.

If that makes any sense at all.

One thought on “Girls don’t play with hammers

Leave a Reply

