Rather judgmental than naive.

I’d like to be able to tell you a wonderfully moving story about how I judged somebody too quickly and was then left with an existential crisis resulting in my transformation from an immoral caterpillar to a beautiful emotionally balanced butterfly, but I can’t. I can’t say I don’t judge people by their ‘covers’, and I can’t say that it doesn’t work for me, because it does.

Maybe I’m a horrible, superficial person, but I’m not referring necessarily to the physical aspects of a person, I just believe there is a reason our perceptions of others are fundamentally framed within our first impressions of them. It’s awfully hard to forget first impressions, and, I think, awfully wrong to try to forget them. Because once they’re emotionally invested in a relationship with you, you never know what they might try to hide from you.

My, this sounds ridiculously bitter. Although, that doesn’t make it untrue.

 

Inspired by: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/binding-judgment/

 

One thought on “Rather judgmental than naive.

Leave a Reply

